Grail Gun

Posted: March 28, 2011 in Uncategorized

Many of us in the firearms community have what I like to refer to as Grail Guns.

What is a Grail Gun?

A grail gun is one of those guns you just HAVE to have.

It may be rare, expensive, unique, cool as hell… any combination or all of them.

I just picked up one of mine.

In 1987, when I was a young lad of only 16 years, Colt introduced the world to the delta elite.

A 1911 patterned pistol chambered in the new 10mm Auto cartridge.

The 10mm, in its originally released form, was a powerhouse… with a power level between the .357 and .41 magnums, closer to the .41.

I was a huge fan of the 1911 from childhood… I blame military movies and my father, he was also a huge fan of the platform having carried it in the late 60s to defend his life in a foreign land.

A 1911 in a powerhouse round? YES PLEASE!!!

Of course… I was too young, and poor on top of that, to get one. But I never forgot about them.

Recently Caryn and I were picking up her Marlin 1895 SBL when I spotted a blued 1911 in the “special” case at the end of the counter.

As I walked up I spotted the wraparound grips with the red triangles on them.

And there she was… commander ring hammer, single sided safety, arched MSH, small sights with the white dots… and the roll stamp on the side proclaiming to the world that she was DELTA ELITE… COLT 10mm AUTO.

I could tell that she wasn’t new, but I didn’t care. Hell, I am not exactly showroom fresh.

She had a slight amount of carry wear, a blem on the right side of her grip.

However her bore looked like new… no battering anywhere I saw.

I brought her home yesterday.

She is a 1st year Delta… the exact gun I fell for 24 years ago.

Took her apart for a look and general cleaning.

She is 100% bone stock and just the way she left Hartford.

I am ecstatic to see that, you see… I am one of those sick guys that likes to molest the unmolested.

I like to be the one who takes a factory original firearm and make it exactly what I want.

This one wont be taken far from how she is right now, more of a refinement than a redesign.

I want to make her better, without taking away what she is.

I fell in love with her the way she came… I am not about to try and make her something else.

I just want her to be what she could be… what I like to think that she would want to be.

1987 Colt Delta Elite 10mm

1987 Colt Delta Elite 10mm

 

Jim

Comments
  1. zacharyhill says:

    Mine is the FS2000. It’ll be a while before I ever get it.

  2. Evil One says:

    At least you have gotten to fondle one.

    Jim

  3. LouisCQ says:

    I am one of those sick guys that likes to molest the unmolested.

    LMAO Jim!

    Mine is a Devel or Seventrees ASP. Although all you guys talking about Deltas are making me think.

Leave a Reply

