The Sterlings have arrived.

Posted: April 16, 2011 in Uncategorized

Caryn and I ordered a pair of his and hers Sterling SMGs from Crusader Weaponry. http://www.crusaderweaponry.com

Both of our Sterlings arrived while I was working in Pa.

Yesterday was the first chance we had to get them to the range.

It was also the first chance I have had to put a few rounds thru my Colt Delta Elite.

I picked up a 250 round range box of Remington UMC FMJ 9mm and the only 2 kinds of 10mm ammo that the store carried, Blazer and Prvi Partizan.

A little background here, a quick read about the Sterling. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sterling_submachine_gun

The Sterlings we ordered are semi auto only. They fire from a closed bolt and have 16″ barrels, keeping them in the category of a normal rifle and not an NFA weapon.

I have NOTHING but praise for the design of the sterling, it is the simplest semi auto firearm I have ever owned.

Push a button and twist the end cap… half of the guts FALL out.

Pull the charging handle out and the rest of the guts fall out.

Unscrew the barrel nut by hand and the barrel… you guessed it, falls out.

Reassembly is the reverse.

There is NO reason for a person to not give it a thorough cleaning now and then.

The magazines hold 34 rounds, and are by far the easiest mags to load that I have ever tried.

Operation is simple and normal. Pop mag in, take carbine off safe, pull charging handle to the rear a couple of inches… maybe less, place back on safe.

The bolt will not go to the rear with the safety on.

The sights are rear aperture and front post. The rear has 2 sizes to choose from, one for 100 meters and the other for 200.

It MAY be my shooting style, I tend to “ride the receiver” when I shoot… face close to the rear sight/scope, but for me it could use a couple of extra inches of pull.

Then again I am a little larger then the average person, it MAY be perfect for you.

These carbines have had Crusaders proprietary ST-1 permanent Slipstream treatment.

I have handled other Sterlings and they have had a gritty feel when working the bolt.

That is nonexistent here.

Between the 2 we blew thru the 250 rounds I brought, both functioned flawlessly.

At the end of the day I snugged both barrel nuts to be sure all was well.

Sterlings are great fun at the range, for their size they are somewhat heavy. Rather than heavy I would prefer to use the term “solid”.

There is no plastic here.

These are made from steel, the lightest thing about them is that there are cooling holes in the steel around the base of the barrel… and that the grips are plastic instead of lead.

Now, since it is not a light arm… I am guessing between 6 and 7 lbs… and it fires the 9mm round, there is VERY little recoil.

I would say that this would be a fine carbine to take a child to the range with.

Low recoil, compact, easy to operate thumb safety…

I also think it would be an amazing home defense arm.

Go thru the process to make it an SBR and fit a suppressor, and you have a compact 34 round 9mm that you have more control of than a pistol.

This picture of me with the Sterling will give you an idea of its size.

Take the barrel off a little in front of the barrel nut and its VERY compact. Add a suppressor and you are back close to current length.

One thing I love about it, is that I can put it in my suitcase for traveling. Yes, its that short.

Here is a short vid showing the lack of recoil or muzzle climb while I fumble about unscripted and not knowing what to say.

All in all, I have to say i am VERY pleased at what Joe, George, and the whole Crusader crew have achieved.

Many thanks guys.

Jim

Comments
  1. They’re surprisingly fun to shoot. Low recoil and smooth operation. Love them. Wish I got one.

  2. Evil One says:

    Commandeer Georges?
    If Joe doesnt do any more, look into building your own.
    I have never touched a simpler semi auto carbine in my life.
    Then have Joe Slipstream it.

    Jim

Leave a Reply

