So, its been a while… things have been hectic.

Posted: May 10, 2011 in Uncategorized

Since my last entry, I have changed residences.

I would just like to state for the record… I HATE moving.

Moving is one of the things in life I dread.

A little history, I have moved all of my life. While in school… I changed schools 13 times.

Sometimes 3-4 times a year.

In the last 10 years I have moved 8 times.

Due to my job, roving telecom installer, I live out of a suitcase 90% of the time.

Yes, I know… I move a LOT for a guy who hates to move.

Caryn and I just packed everything we own in a 22′ box truck and drove it 350 miles north of where I have been for the past 2 and a half years.

I had no idea I had so much crap. I have too much… way WAY too much.

Way…

Caryn has been under the weather so I tried to keep most of the heavier lifting off of her.

This has led me to the realization that the stuff I keep needs to be lighter…

Yes, I am a big guy. I can lift fairly heavy things… but dammit it gets harder to recover from it every year.

You may not recognize it from the picture… but thats a Broyhill couch.

Next time , I want a 16′ truck… at the largest.

So… anyway… we are finally moved into the new house.

When we got here, the contractor the owner hired to get the house ready… hadnt.

The half bath upstairs was an empty room, walls needed paint, oil boiler wouldnt work…

ALL kinds of shit wrong.  Happily, Caryn didnt have the meltdown I feared.

I am an easy going guy… crap just rolls off, like water off of a ducks back.

I am a big picture guy, details dont ruffle my feathers as long as I can see that there should be light at the end of the tunnel.

Caryn is a details person, this is why we work so well together. Combined we see the whole picture.

During all of this, I am in the midst of being hired on direct with my employer… rather than being a contractor.

As a part of this, they run a background check on me.

I have no problem with this, as I have generally kept my nose clean.

However… my name is James Jones.

Care to guess at how many James Jones’ there are out there?

Yea… LOTS.

Now, care to guess how many of them DONT keep their noses clean?

I am inclined to think… MOST OF THEM.

Their favorite criminal past time seems to be as sexual offenders.

So, I am having to refute being a sex offender in multiple states. YAY!!!

I cant properly express just how happy this makes me.

I guess this is partial payback for all the crap I got away with as a kid.

Since I was going to be moving, work gave me some time off… time I didnt ask for, and time I did.

It will be a full 3 weeks without a complete 40 hours of work by the time I am back at it.

This is slightly stressing also, however we are still doing OK.  Better, in fact, than I expected we would be at this point.

It looks like next week things get back to normal with work next week, I have to say that I am looking forward to this.

Yesterday we took a break from unpacking and went on a little trip to Harry’s U Pull it.

For those who dont know, Harrys is one hell of a salvage yard.

Huge with all kinds of vehicles.

I grabbed a throttle body, wiper assembly, and drivers bucket seat for the ramcharger… not too bad for $60.

Swapped out the injectors, TPS, and FPR on the Dodge… and she is running much better.

Yes, I am rambling and somewhat all over the board… but hey… I have not subjected you guys to my thoughts for about 2 weeks now.

So today, we took a drive.

We are new to the area and there is a bit to see.  Also, we really like knowing the area we live in.

No telling when you may have to know an alternate way in or out.

Lots of small towns out in this area. I am a small town guy, so this suits me JUST fine.

Its nice going out for an hour or so, and if it wasnt for the cars… not being able to really tell what year it is.

What else to ramble about now…

Looks like the next2-3 weeks of work will be within a couple of hours of home, thats a good thing.

Well, dinner is ready and I do believe that I may treat myself to a good beer afterwards.

Till next time, keep your powder dry… the shiny side up, and your fly zipped.

Jim

Leave a comment