I am about to blaspheme…

Posted: April 24, 2015 in Uncategorized

Ducati_Scrambler_a_3145988b

Like many, I have been anxiously waiting for the Ducati Scrambler to hit the showroom floors.

Today, I got word that my local Ducati dealer got one in.

So, while out and about the wife and I dropped by to check it out.

The bike is beautiful… you can tell that a lot of thought went into the aesthetics.

Instantly… I wanted it.

Then I sat on it.

The feeling passed instantly.

Like most other Ducs… just sitting on it lets me know that no matter how attractive, fast, or sweet handling it is… it isn’t for me.

After leaving the dealership, Caryn and I sat down and discussed it over a burger.

I would rather have my 22 year old DR650 than the pretty new Ducati.

The pegs are WAY to high for its hinted at intention.

Scrambler… dirt road blasting and light off road.

I would take the Hypermotard with more aggressive rubber first.

Maybe it is my size, it could be that they never intended to have its seat besmirched by someone who is 6’4″ and 250 lbs.

Today we brought home my wifes new bike, a Kawasaki Super Sherpa 250.

A small dual sport.

It is MUCH more comfortable for me than the Scrambler.

Compare it to Triumphs Scrambler?
How about this… the Triumph THRUXTON has a more comfortable riding position.

Yes, the Duc will rip its lungs out… but I am not willing to spend the time in the seat of one to find out firsthand.

The Ducati Scrambler will be a huge sales success… but for me, the bike is an instant failure.

And this… makes me sad.

Jim

Leave a Reply

