Zero Motorcycles test ride

Posted: April 30, 2016 in Uncategorized

zeros1Today I went on a test ride with Zero, my first experience with an electric motorcycle.

I have tried various electric and hybrid vehicles, cars, go karts, golf carts, etc.

For the most part I found them lacking.

This was NOT the case for the Zero DSR.

http://www.zeromotorcycles.com/zero-ds/dsr.php

The first thing that you should know about this bike is this… 106 pounds of torque.

The KTM Super Duke R 1290 has 92 pounds.

The Suzuki Hayabusa has 101.

The Monstrous Kawasaki H2 street model has 115.

This Zero has serious stomp, if it had a transmission it would roll thru town destroying tires.

Riding it took a few minutes to get used to, no clutch, no shifter.

I didnt have any miscues with those 2 missing items, but it was because I kept it in the front of my mind.

Once adapted to the new riding style, the ride was… interesting.

No induction or exhaust sound, no mechanical symphony going on under you.

You only hear a slight whining noise and the wind.

On Eco mode, the bike was OK… smooth and friendly, but not impressive.

However toggle it into Sport mode and it grows fangs.

An electric motor makes it power instantly, you dont wait for the power to build.

Twist throttle… experience Power.

The whole ride I was just looking for the next opportunity to twist the throttle.

This bike, with its upright riding position and instant torque is an around town assassin.

Point, shoot, brake, turn, point, shoot, wash, rinse, repeat.

If I were in the market for a $15,000 commuter bike, I would be all over this.

However, I want my bikes to be all arounders.

Commute, back road scratch, cross states, cross the nation.

This bike cant do that like I would ask for it to.

I would be looking at maybe 150 miles per charge.

For commuting or a weekend ride… great.

But I want more.

The lack of range became very apparent while I was waiting for my second ride, the FXS.

http://www.zeromotorcycles.com/zero-fxs/

The 2 they had there ran out of juice, and were charging when I left.

But… I cant wait to see what Zero has planned for the future.

Comments
  1. My thoughts exactly, Brother Jim. Impressed as hell, but it’s not ready for me yet.

Leave a comment